How-To: TechStream In 5 Minutes

Discussion in '100-Series Cruisers' started by getco, Jan 9, 2018.

  1. getco

    getco

    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    39
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2017
    Location:
    NYC / Nashville
    Getting Techstream up and running can be a bit of a pain. Hopefully this helps someone get started quickly.

    Step 1: Purchase an OBD-II interface. One option:
    - https://amazon.com/Fangfei-Mini-Diagnostic-Scanner-Toyota/dp/B06XGB714M ($20, Prime)

    Step 2: Download VirtualBox for Your Operating System:
    - Windows: http://download.virtualbox.org/virtualbox/5.2.4/VirtualBox-5.2.4-119785-Win.exe
    - MacOS: http://download.virtualbox.org/virtualbox/5.2.4/VirtualBox-5.2.4-119785-OSX.dmg

    Step 3: Install VirtualBox Software You Just Downloaded
    - Windows: Double-Click downloaded file
    - MacOS: Double-Click downloaded file, run installer

    Step 4: Download TechStream Image:
    - MEGA (V2! Click to download)

    Step 5: Double-Click downloaded file.

    Connect & Enjoy.

    :santa:

    -g

    Edit (4/8/18): I removed the more expensive cable, as I received a new Mini-VCI cable that works 100% at 1/4 the cost.
     
    Last edited: Apr 8, 2018
  2. Ayune

    Ayune SILVER Star

    Messages:
    430
    Likes Received:
    673
    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2017
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    I noticed with my '98 LC that I don't have a ton of settings that I can adjust, is that what others are seeing?

    For example, I'd like to adjust my wiper delay and keyfob unlock settings, but it looks like they're not available. Is there a list of accessible settings for each year of vehicle?
     
  3. TXSunDevil

    TXSunDevil SILVER Star

    Messages:
    913
    Likes Received:
    558
    Joined:
    May 3, 2017
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    I have a Mac. Have you tried that interface from Ebay with Apple?
     
  4. getco

    getco

    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    39
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2017
    Location:
    NYC / Nashville
    I don't have very many settings in my '02 LX.

    I successfully run this setup on a Mac with the VXDIAG (eBay) interface. I wasn't able to get AHC pressures with a Mini-VCI cable (Amazon) and borked it trying to flash an experimental firmware. I did not purchase my Mini-VCI cable from the Amazon seller above so I may have just had a bad cable.

    (Update: I purchased another Mini VCI Cable (Amazon Cable), and was able to read pressures)

    -g
     
    Last edited: Apr 8, 2018
    apdxyk, Ayune and TXSunDevil like this.
  5. Magikarp

    Magikarp

    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    9
    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2017
    Location:
    San Diego
    Am I correct to say the above instructions in post #1 is not working with AHC pressures?
     
  6. getco

    getco

    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    39
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2017
    Location:
    NYC / Nashville
    I am able to read the AHC ECU (And All ECUs for that matter) using the VXDIAG (ebay) OBD-II interface. I also purchased a Mini-VCI cable, (But not from the amazon seller above) and was unable to communicate with the AHC ECU, but had no issue reading the other ECUs. Again, possible I just had a bad Mini-VCI cable.

    In the linked image above, drivers for both interfaces are pre-installed.
     
  7. hj 60

    hj 60 JT1W0HJ6000960839

    Messages:
    2,403
    Likes Received:
    741
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2012
    Location:
    Netherlands Hengevelde
  8. yotasavg

    yotasavg

    Messages:
    1,653
    Media:
    17
    Albums:
    4
    Likes Received:
    367
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2013
    Location:
    Chico, CA
    Sub'd, I really need to do this... my wife's IS350 has some very odd user settings from the PO.
     
  9. Magikarp

    Magikarp

    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    9
    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2017
    Location:
    San Diego
    Thanks!. BTW I couldn't download the file from MEGA. Do you have another link handy?
     
  10. Egreenberg87

    Egreenberg87

    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2017
    Location:
    New Orleans/Detroit
    Thanks for the information! I was able to run the program.

    Anyone have any experience with the wired vs wireless OBD interface? I'm wondering if its worth an additional 50 dollars for the VXDiag version.
     
  11. fooldall1

    fooldall1

    Messages:
    506
    Albums:
    1
    Likes Received:
    117
    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2017
    Location:
    Orlando, Fl.

    Oh hell yes, thanks!!!
     
  12. 2000LC

    2000LC

    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    21
    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2016
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    Man this is so helpful. I couldn't find anything in FAQ and all the posts about Techstream assumed you had it already I was so lost lol. :banana:
     
  13. RND1

    RND1

    Messages:
    1,033
    Likes Received:
    538
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2010
    Location:
    Chelmsford, MA
    Thanks @getco this is very helpful. So, what exactly does Techstream allow us to see/modify?
     
  14. getco

    getco

    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    39
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2017
    Location:
    NYC / Nashville
    I'll upload to MediaFire as a backup. Will update the OP when it's finished.

    I'm not sure if you're referring to the VXDiag model I linked to in the OP. If you are, it isn't wireless. I'd probably just purchase the Mini-VCI cable first, and if that works for you, perfect. If it doesn't, return it within 30 days and buy the VXDiag if necessary. It's the techstream software that's doing the heavy lifting, so theoretically (if they are both good cables), each will give you identical functionality.

    I only purchased the VXDiag because I was having issues reading AHC trouble codes, and those two interfaces use different drivers.

    Welcome :cheers: -- Least I could do.

    For LX, and LC owners with AHC, Techstream allow us to see AHC pressures + trouble codes. Even without AHC it allows everything from basic 'check engine' light diagnosis, key programming (May only be 04+?), and adjustment of some settings like 'roll down my windows when I unlock the car' --- the adjustable preferences differ with different model years. Not too many on my '02 LX, but I believe the folks with newer LC/LXs have more options.

    -g
     
    RND1 likes this.
  15. MudHut

    MudHut

    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    6
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2017
    Location:
    Roanoke, VA
    Does Techstream get into ABS codes? <EDIT> Searched and answered my own question.

    YES, it does.

    Thanks,
    Jay
     
    Last edited: Jan 11, 2018
    getco likes this.
  16. BadReligion

    BadReligion SILVER Star

    Messages:
    563
    Likes Received:
    385
    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2011
    Location:
    Reno, NV
    Awesome. Took me a while to figure out how to get techstream working but once up and running it allowed me to get rid of the VGRS light that has been on since I replaced the steering control ECU a few months back. Just needed a quick reset. Probably saved me $140 from having the dealer do this.

    The $20 amazon cable worked just fine and you actually get a copy of techstream on the included CD. For those that are not too tech savy (like myself), the reason for the virtual machine is to run TS in 32 bit mode, which is necessary for the cable to work properly. Anything newer than windows XP is 64 bit.

    Also, when TS connected to my LX, it recognized it as a 2003 Landcruiser. While I was able to access a few of the onboard ECUs, many were not visible. I had to reconfigure to the correct vehicle (2003 LX) and then the other ECUs, including the VGRS ecu, were visible.
     
    droppn brass, catz and joshAUST like this.
  17. Slamd1958

    Slamd1958

    Messages:
    118
    Media:
    1
    Likes Received:
    90
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2016
    Location:
    Boise, ID

    Having issues downloading the one for Mac. it keeps coming up with an error and won't install the program from Virtualbox.... Any help would be appreciate
     
  18. joshAUST

    joshAUST

    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    43
    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2017
    Location:
    Hobart, Tasmania, Australia
    Great info!
    Thank you.

    @BadReligion, Vista, Win7, 8 and 10 do actually have 32bit versions available, not that you'd generally want it though. :)
    They are often preinstalled on cheaper mini laptops and the like.
    The retail versions of the OS often gave you the option to install either the 32bit or the 64bit versions.

    The drivers for the cheaper listed cable says it only supports XP and 7 however.
    Its no doubt possible to get it working in later OSs though, but it could be painful.
    If in doubt though, Virtualbox should do the trick.

    Thanks re your info about having to reconfigure TS for the LX to see the other ECUs.
    Good to know.
     
  19. Dparo

    Dparo SILVER Star

    Messages:
    221
    Likes Received:
    226
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2016
    Location:
    NWI
    Someone talked about wiper speed, what other options can be changed? I have an 07.
     
  20. looking4lc

    looking4lc

    Messages:
    448
    Likes Received:
    31
    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2013
    TIS keeps asking me for the key and the key provided seems not working.

    advice
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.