New tech for monitoring OBD (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
I've been the proud owner of a high-mileage 1999 LC for just over a week, and the check engine light started flashing at me today. I'm just starting to learn the ins and outs of maintaining a LC, so I dropped it off at a local mechanic and will find out tomorrow what the problem is. Based on some Mud threads I read this afternoon, I'm guessing one of the cylinders is misfiring, but that's not really the point of this thread.

The next time my check engine light comes on, I'd like to have a tool to check OBD2 code(s) myself rather than drive straight to a mechanic, so I'm looking into the best tech for monitoring OBD and would like to know what you all think since you definitely have a lot more experience than I do. The options I'm considering are:

-Wired OBD2 scanner: Autel AutoLink AL319 or similar
Pros: can be cheap (unless you buy a "professional" model); straightforward and proven
Cons: not as convenient as the other options, no additional features​
-Bluetooth or Wifi OBD2 scanner: Veepeak Mini WiFi OBD2 Scanner or similar
Pros: cheap; easily send OBD2 codes to your smart phone, which can use a variety of apps to interpret the data
Con: a very small but vocal minority of users have reported these devices have permanently damaged their vehicle​
-Smart car device: Automatic, Verizon Hum, or Zubie
Pros: monitors OBD2 and does a lot more (crash detection, trip tracking, maintenance tracking/reminders, and more, depending on which one you choose)
Cons: expensive (most charge monthly or annual fees), reviews say the customer service isn't great​

Thanks in advance for your advice.

It looks like the link in that thread no longer works, but I found this one on Amazon. If I'm reading the comments correctly, you can only use this with a PC running Windows XP, so it's not an option for me.