kw90surf's Grad Present to Himself, 1991 FJ80 H150F Touring Build (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Well, it's finally happened after 4 years! I promised myself when I got into post-secondary that I'd buy myself an 80 series when I graduated my program. While I was in school I swear I spent half my study time studying course material and the other half researching Land Cruisers (ha). Was an effective external motivator to keep my eyes on through a very demanding program. I have now graduated into a job where I will be working as a ship's officer doing 28 days on, 28 days off. Perfect schedule for doing 4WD touring/overland type travel! And that is why I'm drawn to the 80 series platform (that and a bunch of other reasons)

I had toyed with the idea of buying/importing an HDJ81 (I own a RHD turbodiesel Hilux Surf), but after weighing out the difference in purchase price, cost of insurance and parts availability (an issue I've dealt with owning the Surf), a LHD gas-powered 80 made more sense. I watched the prices of FJ/FZJ80s increase quite a bit over those 4 years, so I decided to focus on finding a clean, rust-free, well maintained Cruiser rather than a low-mileage '95-97 with lockers etc. I'd also never laid a hand on one, much less driven one. I was open to any year, but I'm drawn to the early 1991-1992 80 series because of some of the aesthetic cues (tweed cloth interior, narrow flares, manual seats, "TOYOTA" grille, early dash, 15-in alloys, etc.). As a bonus, they don't seem to be commanding the premium that the later locked trucks do. So, I graduated this past June and arranged to fly down to Montana a week later and pick up this beauty from fellow mudder @Bigsky80 :