FJ62 compressor replacement and 134a conversion

4Cruisers

Supporting Vendor
SILVER Star
Joined
Apr 2, 2015
Messages
7,595
Reading this thread as I'm preparing on a conversion project before it turns to hell in SoCal. Can someone confirm that you have to get a new compressor in order to convert to r134a? I was going to just order off most of this parts list...

View attachment 3040041
No change in compressor required, just drain the old oil and refill with new.
 

dogcruiser

SILVER Star
Joined
Aug 20, 2020
Messages
119
Location
Winter Park, FL
Reading this thread as I'm preparing on a conversion project before it turns to hell in SoCal. Can someone confirm that you have to get a new compressor in order to convert to r134a? I was going to just order off most of this parts list...

View attachment 3040041
According to the TSB don’t. You can leave the compressor right in place. I added the recommended amount of PAG 46 oil (100ml) to the low side of the compressor while I had the hoses off. I replaced the evaporator and everything in the cooler box (pressure switch and expansion valve). I ponied up the bucks for the expansion valve from Toyota ($95). The evap and drier are Denso, pressure switch and o-rings are Four Seasons, all from RockAuto. Bought the retrofit valves and valve core remover (for the old valves) from Oreilly. Kept my condenser and compressor. Flushed the condenser and lines just to make sure they were clean. Very little debris came out of them.

Rented all the AC tools from AutoZone.

Now, I’ve only put about 10 miles on the truck since finishing up a few days ago but so far so good here in Florida! Was blowing 50 degrees this afternoon.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 16, 2022
Messages
8
Location
Texas
Really hoping for some help with recharging my AC system. I’ve recently got all my hoses replaced since a mechanic confirmed I had a leak. Now with all high pressure hoses, connected tightly with thread locker, I moved on to vacuuming the system and recharging it. I had to get the retrofit kit to get the manifold hoses to attach. At this point, no problems. After watching numerous videos on how to tackle this, I’m stumped… I believe I’ve successfully completed the vacuum stage. But after I screw on my can of Freon, it’s as if no Freon is moving into the system or something. Yes, I’ve made sure the correct low/high valves are open/closed correctly multiple times.Yes, I have my truck on or off at the appropriate times in the process. I’ve crossed my T’s and dotted my I’s. When I use the adapter to screw down and puncture a hole in the top of the Freon container, I then back it out. Here’s where the problem happens. I bleed any air out of the yellow/center manifold hose, but it’s just a little air that comes out. I am under the impression that air should come out first followed by Freon, in which point you know you’ve bled the air from that hose out properly. This doesn’t happen though. Then, I open up just the low pressure side, which from what I gather is supposed then let Freon in and the needle should go up and then down as the compressor kicks on and everything. What happens is that the needle goes up and stops, never to move again. I’ve shook the can and nothing. I’ve flipped it upside down and nothing. And in the glass viewing eye, I never see any Freon or liquid or anything. Where am I going wrong on this step? Am I missing something?

I’m going to start from scratch again tomorrow, vacuuming and everything. But hoping to get some ideas in the mean time. Thanks!
 

dogcruiser

SILVER Star
Joined
Aug 20, 2020
Messages
119
Location
Winter Park, FL
Really hoping for some help with recharging my AC system. I’ve recently got all my hoses replaced since a mechanic confirmed I had a leak. Now with all high pressure hoses, connected tightly with thread locker, I moved on to vacuuming the system and recharging it. I had to get the retrofit kit to get the manifold hoses to attach. At this point, no problems. After watching numerous videos on how to tackle this, I’m stumped… I believe I’ve successfully completed the vacuum stage. But after I screw on my can of Freon, it’s as if no Freon is moving into the system or something. Yes, I’ve made sure the correct low/high valves are open/closed correctly multiple times.Yes, I have my truck on or off at the appropriate times in the process. I’ve crossed my T’s and dotted my I’s. When I use the adapter to screw down and puncture a hole in the top of the Freon container, I then back it out. Here’s where the problem happens. I bleed any air out of the yellow/center manifold hose, but it’s just a little air that comes out. I am under the impression that air should come out first followed by Freon, in which point you know you’ve bled the air from that hose out properly. This doesn’t happen though. Then, I open up just the low pressure side, which from what I gather is supposed then let Freon in and the needle should go up and then down as the compressor kicks on and everything. What happens is that the needle goes up and stops, never to move again. I’ve shook the can and nothing. I’ve flipped it upside down and nothing. And in the glass viewing eye, I never see any Freon or liquid or anything. Where am I going wrong on this step? Am I missing something?

I’m going to start from scratch again tomorrow, vacuuming and everything. But hoping to get some ideas in the mean time. Thanks!
Confirm that the yellow service hose is connected up properly. The one I used had a valve on one end but not the other. Maybe try swapping that hose around the other way? I know that once the hose was connected and the can was open, I was able to loosen the yellow line where it connected to the manifold and let air out and bleed the line until I saw coolant. It had plenty of pressure coming out when I bled it.
 
Joined
Jan 16, 2022
Messages
8
Location
Texas
Confirm that the yellow service hose is connected up properly. The one I used had a valve on one end but not the other. Maybe try swapping that hose around the other way? I know that once the hose was connected and the can was open, I was able to loosen the yellow line where it connected to the manifold and let air out and bleed the line until I saw coolant. It had plenty of pressure coming out when I bled it.
That’s funny you mention the valve on that hose. I noticed it when I was originally hooking it all up and that was the one thing I wasn’t sure of. My ONLY thought for when I try again today was to do exactly that, switch it around and see what happens! Thanks for that confirmation, hopefully that does the trick.
 
Joined
Jan 16, 2022
Messages
8
Location
Texas
Confirm that the yellow service hose is connected up properly. The one I used had a valve on one end but not the other. Maybe try swapping that hose around the other way? I know that once the hose was connected and the can was open, I was able to loosen the yellow line where it connected to the manifold and let air out and bleed the line until I saw coolant. It had plenty of pressure coming out when I bled it.
Do you happen to remember which way worked? Was the yellow hose end with the valve on the vacuum pump side or the manifold side?
 
Joined
Aug 9, 2020
Messages
58
Location
Los Angeles, CA
According to the TSB don’t. You can leave the compressor right in place. I added the recommended amount of PAG 46 oil (100ml) to the low side of the compressor while I had the hoses off. I replaced the evaporator and everything in the cooler box (pressure switch and expansion valve). I ponied up the bucks for the expansion valve from Toyota ($95). The evap and drier are Denso, pressure switch and o-rings are Four Seasons, all from RockAuto. Bought the retrofit valves and valve core remover (for the old valves) from Oreilly. Kept my condenser and compressor. Flushed the condenser and lines just to make sure they were clean. Very little debris came out of them.

Rented all the AC tools from AutoZone.

Now, I’ve only put about 10 miles on the truck since finishing up a few days ago but so far so good here in Florida! Was blowing 50 degrees this afternoon.
How did you go about removing the old oil from the compressor to fill 100ml of the new PAG46?
 

dogcruiser

SILVER Star
Joined
Aug 20, 2020
Messages
119
Location
Winter Park, FL
How did you go about removing the old oil from the compressor to fill 100ml of the new PAG46?
I have an 88 FJ62 with the 10PA compressor, so I skipped the 10P only section about o-ring replacements on the compressor and just replaced the ones where the hoses attach. So I just left it in place. They also mention in the drier section that mineral oil will be left in the system so the drier glass will be cloudy.

Have I set myself up to have a failing AC system?
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Top Bottom