fj40 odometer repair (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
The odometer meter on my 82 fj40 stoped turning today, the tenths work just the miles won't click over, it stoped when it was turning the next 1000, just won't go

Is it repairable? if so how? Maybe it justs needs cleaning up? the manuals show nothing about the odometer

finding a nice 81-83 cluster prolly isn't gonna be easy. It aprears the parts or no longer made. Local spedo shop said they can't fix it but can send it out someplace to be fixed.......problem is its a 3+ month wait and $150-300.

BTW I am SURE I jinked myself today, made some smartass coment about cruiser odo's not working........of course I said all mine did and its friday the 13th

also
OK, I started playing with an old odo I had, got it out and in my hand....now trying to figure out how it works. I got the outer gear off(that turns the 1/10's) but now I don't see how the rest comes apart. I see one more snap ring but its behind a brass thingy, so even if I pull the ring the dials won't come off to get to the other gears inside.

BTW it looks VERY VERY easy to roll the odo back......dang now I know where all the low mile 40's come from

also wonder if a fj60/2 odo is the same?

Weren't you just saying that you had no malfunctioning speedo clusters somewhere, John? Today? Jinxed yourself?

yep.........that will teach me. and was the 1st thing I thought of when it didn't roll over to 1.............. :D :whoops: :slap: :doh: :flipoff2: ::) I did make a note of my jinking in my 1st post.......just in case someone was on the ball :flipoff2:

now tell me how to fix that damn thing, I got a older odo I am playing with, I can't get the numbers off the rod........

[quote author=IDave link=board=1;threadid=11483;start=msg104705#msg104705 date=1076732921]