EGR delete step by step (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Hi everyone im new to the fzj80 world bought one over the summer for a camping rig and my winter tank to get to the hospital on the days I work. I know im going to make some of you mad by asking im looking to get rid of the egr system and was wondering if someone had good pictures and instructions for getting rid of it. I live in WI and there's no emission's testing. again sorry I know the topic has been brought up before and I have looked through the serch bar and its not clear just spaced out and with different models. I have a 1994 with the 4.5 and the obd1 reader. Thanks for any help and sorry if im beating a dead horse.

use the search box and check the faq, great source of info. if your looking to a full delete and get rid of everything your going to need block off plates for where the egr sits in the exhaust and intake. the really easy way is to unplug the egr modulator and short the harness side by using a paper clip in the connector and taping it all up. that will disable the egr valve and dosnt set a code, ive been running that for a few years

Pardon my ignorance, but what are the advantages of deleting the EGR system?

if the egr is malfunctioning it can cause poor engine performance, stumbling at idle if stuck open, check engine light and so on. deleting it will negate having to replace it, if its not there no need to worry about it. others feel that it is the leading cause of hg failure, theres plenty of reading on that if you search. I deleted it because it was intermittently getting stuck open and causing a very low idle when stopped. no egr no problem