Dual battery systems and winches ... what to do about fuses? (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

CruiserTrash

Supporting Vendor
GOLD Star
Threads
Website
cruisertrashparts.com
First time dipping my toe in the water of this part of the forum, and into dual battery systems in general. I'm going to be putting a dual battery system in my daily driver FJ60 in the coming months and I'm starting the process of designing the system and acquiring parts. I have a background in electronics repair and design, but it took me a bit to wrap my head around the lingo like DC-DC chargers, solenoids/isolators, MPPT, and a dozen other acronyms. I have a fair grasp on it now but I'm still not an expert. This build will be simple and budget friendly, and will probably undergo a major revision a few years down the road. The enemy of good is perfection, and while I'm a little OCD, I'm not going to let dreams of the perfect system stand in the way of installing a well-planned simple system now.

My question pertains specifically to incorporating a winch. I'm going to run two lead acid batteries (until the house battery dies and then maybe switch to a different type) with an isolator between them, and will put a fuse on on the cable from each battery to the isolator. It's safer that way and best practice. I may go with resettable breakers, but for now let's assume it'll be fuses. See this stolen photo:
screen-shot-2024-01-17-at-10-54-08-pm-png.3535898