"Don't use lockers" ?? (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Had a great time with the folks at UORTC on their "Big Creek" trails at Uwharrie last weekend on a full-day "coach and drive"...but was surprised when told at the pre-trail meeting to avoid using lockers...tread lightly and all, I guess. Since I am new to all of this, I'm happy to ask stupid questions (smile), is this common knowledge and practice?

Lockers in a straight line really won't tear up a trail it's only when you turn as it has a tendency to tear up the trail. Only use lockers when you think not having the traction will hurt the trail or you wouldn't be able to make it. Really on most stuff we do a rear is all you might need. Only use the front when the s*** hits the fan. Very hard to steer when using the front locker and it has a tendency to just go straight. Even in corners

Yep, that's what I was thinking....keep the rears on (pretty tough trails), but was told it could lead to slipping on off-camber stuff.

Izzy almost convinced me last weekend that I don't even need rear lockers :)

When I had my 80, I frequently found the rear locker made things much easier - so far less stress on the trail/environment. Locked the front only for the worst stuff, e.g. the ledge on Daniel.

Guess it's just philosophy: If I engage the rear locker and just cruise through trails, how is that worse than needing wheelspin on the same trail? (Hint: it's not)