Cylinder markings (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

middlecalf

SILVER Star
Threads
So with my new top-secret NSA spy camera from China, I spied on my ‘64 F135‘s cylinders while they were sleeping, and came across these markings on the top. Any ideas as to what these are (all 6 have similar markings). OEM, aftermarket? I have no knowledge of engine’s history.
IMG_3683.jpg

Last edited:
All 6? That makes it less likely that it's a broken spark plug electrode clattering around inside.

Yeah the first one I looked at I thought that same thing. Then after seeing similar markings on all six cylinders I thought, wow, that was one busy spark plug electrode, and very artistic 😂.

Maybe those are Japanese markings? 😂

Last edited:
Jeeez! Looks like one of these was involved.

ChipHammer.jpg

So many questions but, I will start with how is the compression? Something obviously got in there. If it was just one piston then I’d suspect there’s a broken ring land that allowed part of a ring to travel up but you should see that on your inspection. Being on all 6… my best guess is little Jimmy put rocks in the engine for fun. In all seriousness, I’m curious how is the compression?

First photo is a new 2F piston crown, second is a 1FZ-FE when I had to do an emergency head gasket replacement. The condition of the FZJ80 piston is what you want to see (granted it was cleaned from all the coolant in the cylinder). Something was definitely bouncing around inside the engine at some point. It’s possible that a PO resolved the issue and put the pistons back in because I don’t believe they are readily available anymore. Let us know what you find, I’m curious. Pull the head, it’s an easy job on a 1964

FADDC380-C890-4C2C-9733-93CD8DED0376.jpeg

6E5B8BEA-85D6-482B-9C9F-BABFF53AA4E7.jpeg

Something was bouncing around in those cylinders. And its still running!!