CV Axle replacement while Im at it (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Newbie here, recently purchased an 2003 LX470 with 228k miles that I'm currently baselining. I am replacing all fluids, heater Ts and hoses, timing belt/water pump. While Im at it, Im going to replace the break pads and rotors, since they look pretty rough. Since my front rotors will be off, I feel like I should replace the bearings. Im pretty confident they are still the original bearings. That leads me to the next topic. When I take a sharp(ish) left turn I hear a faint knocking noise coming from the drivers side wheel. Though I haven't dug through the CV Axle yet, Im going to also guess its original and probably needs replacement. While Im replacing everything else, this should be an easy install with a majority of the stuff out of the way.

Question: If Im going to with the new CV Axle route, should I stick to OEM? or is there another reputable brand out there. This is my third car and will majority be used for light offloading and camping. I do plan on putting bigger tires followed by bumpers and roof rack. Ive been doing a lot of looking on the web for CV Axles, and the prices fluctuate significantly from various online Toyota dealerships. Ive found one for $491, and my local dealer is charging $690. What are some other websites I could use? CruiserTeq only has 1 in stock.

Next question:
While some of the steering and break components are off, Im entertaining the idea of replacing the steering rack. Im sure its find, but while I have cash, Id like to get as much done as possible so I don't have to worry about it later when I spend $4000 outfitting my LX. Im confident I can replace all parts listed above, with the exception of the rack and pinion. For a somewhat newer mechanic like myself, is it possible to do in your driveway with jack stands, or is it better off just paying someone.