Battery Cutoff Switch (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
I tried doing a search as I assume this has been covered here, but nothing comes up.

Looking for under the hood battery cutoff switched to serve two purposes;

Prevent battery drain from phantom circuits.

Anti-theft device (yes, I know not full proof)

I've seen car collectors install these in classic cars before.

Here's my experience. I had to install two-way radio's, and other electronic equipment (mapping) in Polaris side-by-sides at work. I was a Communications Tech, and also served in the military working on aircraft (avionics), and ground support and test equipment.

I found at NAPA some battery cutoff switches that had a removable T-handle key. Supposed to be for under-hood applications. Damn things were intermittent (made in China), and wouldn't work half the time.

Looking at Marine Grade switches, assuming they would be a higher quality, probably even water proof, if not just more water resistant than those made for automotive applications?

Unfortunately, every dealer and distributor I contact can't give me a good answer to where they are manufactured. I'm trying to avoid made in China crap. Would prefer something made in USA, Japan, or Europe.

Anyone here have experience with a good quality unit?

Thanks in advance, here's a link to some of the Marine Grade switches:

Don't know a lot about this, but seems to me that you may be better off tackling each task separately. Get a good beefy switch for the battery cutoff and then -since you are an expert already in electronics- rig a little hidden switch someplace to prevent engine start, either manual or radio.
I have some Blue Sea big switches, they seem of fine quality. I have seen some T-handle affairs, saying they are not bypass-proof is being generous. I imagine all are made in China.