Automotive Machine Shops - Vancouver Island (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Hey guys,

I'm tearing down my 1HD-T for high mileage(350k on the odo + what ever was rolled back..) service as I chose to avoid catastrophic failure as my incentive... therefore no exciting pictures to put in the thread :confused:. I'm looking for your personal experience with Island based automotive machine shops to perform head and short block service. The head will come off later today which I believe has never been off as it has a 4 notch head gasket(only 1,3 & 5 available from what I have read).

I plan on supplying my own parts from Toyota/Engines Australia/Noordeman Diesel. I have rebuilt engines before, but not a diesel. I will get the short block assembled by the shop but I would install the head after the block is back in the truck - this thing is heavy. As a machinist myself, I am detail oriented and seek to find a shop that prides themselves in their workmanship.

I am also interested in first hand experience with aftermarket internals such as those provided by Engines Australia and Noordeman Diesel etc.

Shops that I know of or came across online:

1. Island D. Automotive Machine in Nanaimo - These guys seem to have some nice equipment.
2. Wilson & Proctor - Well established diesel shop however I don't know what there walk in service is like as they are known for industrial/fleet work.
3. Cords Alpine - I've used them before but my finish price was double what I was quoted, some of which was understandable...
4. Just Heads - CLOSED/ no more?
5. Mid Island Machine - I only know these guys for doing domestic muscle car type stuff.
6. ???

Thanks for your input!

Chris

20230706_094822.jpg

Guys on Keating served me well. But I think their best machinist retired. Can't remember name of place at the moment.