Analysis paralysis with GX460 lift, wheels, and tires decisions (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Hi folks. I'm relatively new to the GX460 world having recently left the closely-related 4Runner community and I just picked up a 2018 base model GX460. I'm looking for some help breaking through the "analysis paralysis" barrier in regards to lift, wheel, and tire options. I'll preface this with the note that the end-goal is to retain as close to factory-like on-road comfort as possible while bumping up the off-road abilities, all within a fairly strict budget. I'm not looking for full-on rock crawler capability, but (as you all know) the trails in the Northeast are supremely rocky and a lot of the wheeling is creeping along in 4-low with the suspension undergoing constant stress and flex. I do intend to drive out west and run some of the trails in CO and UT as well, so road trip comfort is crucial as is durability. The GX will be a "do-it-all" vehicle for me, from daily duty to wheeling to beach trips to occasionally pulling a trailer for work (no more than 5k lbs).

The starting point, and catch, is that I already have a set of 285/70/17 Toyo Open Country AT3s that I am supposed to review for multiple outlets (These were supposed to go on a prior vehicle but can now go on the GX). I am planning to do the lift kit install myself with a friend and trying to approach the "build" with the intention of avoiding a BMC. I acknowledge every vehicle and setup is different and I may need to do so regardless, but if at all possible I'd prefer to not have to. That in mind, I've done an enormous amount of searching and reading older thread, and this forum has already been a wealth of knowledge but I'm looking for some situation-specific direction. Without further ado, the questions at hand...