A Salty GX 470 Build (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Hi all,

I've been posting a bit around the forum for the last few weeks, and now that I've purchased a GX 470, I am going to make my own build thread. Thank you ahead of time to everyone's help. Please give your input/advice on things I'm doing/should do! All criticism is welcome. I am by no means a mechanic. Anything I do on my own, I've done by learning from Youtube.

11/16/23 - Purchased a 2006 GX 470 in Titanium Silver Metallic (1D4 color code) for $6,800. 188k mi. Bought in Baltimore, drove it back up home to Albany, NY. The drive home was great - engine and transmission felt superb. Slapped some dead NY plates from a previous car, put it on my insurance, and drove it back.

There was little to no vehicle history from 61k - 171k on the carfax. Last owner had it from 130k~171k.

Things I know that have been done in the last 18 months by previous owner:

- new alternator
- new starter
- brakes/rotors
- new Falken Wildpeaks 265/70R/17

I don't plan on building anything "true" off-road.. this is my fly fishing "fun" vehicle though to get me down some easy/moderate jeep trails. Here's my plans:

- 2" lift
- new wheels
- rock sliders
- new lights
- wheel carrier
- swap front/rear bumper
- new aFe exhaust system (maybe)
- various interior replacements

Here's the day I got it:

_image000000_.jpg

_image000001_.jpg

PXL_20231117_212703615.jpg

11/21/23

Brought the GX into Toyota and had the following replaced:

- timing belt
- water pump
- serp belt
- cam & crank seals
- radiator
- transmission lines running to radiator
- seized e-brake lines
- synthetic oil change
- NYS inspection

11/24/23

Ordered some stuff since it was black friday. I read somewhere that people said to "start from the ground up" when it comes to buying stuff. So wheels & rock sliders are first.

- Black Rhino CHAMBER wheels (17x8.5 0 offset)