3.4 High idle (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Website
mysite.verizon.net
Hi all,

After reading a ton on this I am still no expert. Wondering if some of you can chime in, figured I'd make use of my time at work while 4runner is a good distance away waiting for me to attempt to solve this over the weekend.

Important info: 87 4runner, 2003 3.4L swap, K&N filter charger/no stock air filter/box, no EVAP at all, aluminum radiator, dual fan setup, dead temp gauges on left side of cluster [both], number style gauges underneath stereo.

So, I've got the high idle issues that we've all heard and read about. I've already MAF'd the hole in front of the butterfly vlave on the throttle body and PB blasted the rod. The thorttle body had already been out and sprayed obsessively with throttle body cleaner. I've also removed the MAF and sprayed the snot out of that with MAF sensor.

From reading, I'm going to eliminate vaccum leaks, and IAC valve as culprits. Assuming at this point that maybe the butterfly is hanging up and allowing air to pass, and I'll need to space out the rod with a washer.

However, before I remove the t-body to confirm and diagnose the buttefly valve culpability, I wanted to ask:

Is there any possibility that the dead temp gauges are affecting this [coolant sensor to ECM]? Or should I already know the answer - lack of EVAP system?

I'll also try to meter the TPS, and IAC prior to removing t-body, but thats not my area of expertise, so I plan to learn that first.

Anyway, feel free to add in anything I didn't mention or discover for paths to resolution please, 6.9mpg is not fun this week.

Thank you all,

Aaron

So, this completely buggered me for 2 weeks.