2016+ LX570 Carplay Upgrade (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

From all my ongoing shopping, im leaning naviks.
But it seams they all use aux override for audio.

I dont like my fully digital path being weakest linked to a unidentifiable DAC.
And then over 2 pole TRS at that. Im using apple music high res lossless, there is still loss over bluetooth, but the conversion is in the ML system If im not mistaken.
The audio is an area im still learning, but i believe its a digital path to the ML.

Driveway king @grinchy , what say you?
I took a peek at the 2016 and 2018 LX FSM. Looks like this generation (or at least those years), have gone to the MOST network based protocol, similar to the JBL system used in the TLC. This is generally bad news for getting access to the source signals for aftermarket amplification or source replacement. I haven't found any aftermarket MOST decoders for the Toyota version (there are some GM, or audi or whatnot).

So what does that mean? That you're stuck with high level signals post amplifier if you want to augment the amplified side, and you're stuck with whatever front end 'aux' or 'cd changer' or 'sat' type input hacking that the HU allows in it's native function set.

I would think the dream of a pure digital signal thru to amplification would be difficult.

The gen 1 and gen 2 ML systems had line level 2 ch and digital coax (5.1 at least) available at the back of the HU or under the seat at the amplifier location. Pretty aftermarket friendly.

Screen Shot 2022-11-20 at 12.21.04 PM.png