1hdft / A442F truck from hell (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Hey guys....
I am new to this so thank you for having me and letting me share. I am having issues with my 80s 1HD-FT with a A442F gearbox i bought six months back as project vehicle thats now giving me so much trouble.

HISTORY: The car was a wreck, no service history and not maintained but i took it anyway because it had potential and it was moving well considering its faults. I have worked on the turbo, the suspension, tyres new, cooling system new, braking system new, all new fluids and filters in the engine, transfer case, diffs and gearbox. Vacuum lines have been replaced and put according the the manual and lastly the injectors and injector pump have been serviced and tested all meant to be working well.
PROBLEM: Now i have had issues with the vehicle this only start recently, the car will move perfect when cold even 1/4 turn key start hot or cold. When you travel some distance the speedo needle starts to jump and then the truck feels as if the gears are changing up and down and sometimes feels as if you pulling off in third gear. It doesn't happen every time but when it does happen i stop switch off and wait a while and she goes fine after until it starts again.

I am out in Zimbabwe really at my wits end looking for advise please cruiser techs here do not seem to know whats going on and they got me throwing money at any idea they come up with. thanks....

UPDATE: If the glow light is on it performs badly gears erratically changing but if i stop, turn off the ignition and pull out the ECU B fuse....wait for 10 sec and plug it back in then start her up again its golden it moves well and no glow plug light on the dash and no gear issues she moves like new again. I cannot figure it out.

Search in the diesel tech section of the forum.

Does it blow white smoke when its running badly?