1976 FJ40 - Engine Fuse Blowing (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
1976 FJ40

I have reviewed other "engine fuse" issue threads on this site, but they are slightly different than my issue. When I turn my key to accessory mode, the engine fuse blows immediately. I can still start the engine and it seems to run fine. I have limited experience with auto electronics so I am looking for some guidance.

I understand that the following are on the engine fuse circuit:
  • Regulator
  • VSV (my vehicle seems to be desmogged so I do not have one)
  • Fuel cutoff solenoid (I have a Weber38 so I don't think I have one)
  • Emission computer
  • Cooling fan controller (no carb cooler fan installed - no relay or motor)
  • Maintenance interval detector (my MID is connected to the wiring harness, but not being used as I have a bypass speedometer cable)
With the fuse removed, I put an ohmmeter on the engine fuse circuit to ground (it reads .03 ohms). I have unplugged the items on the circuit that I think I have with no changes (if I did it right). Based on other IH8MUD issues, I assume that it is a short somewhere but have no idea where to look.

What is this connection for? I do not see it anywhere in my wiring harness references (see image).
New Picture (2).jpg

Nothing should happen when you turn the key to ACC - the Engine fuse is on the next position (IGN).

You've tried unplugging the regulator and no change if I understand?

How does the harness look where it passes through the bulkhead just below the regulator?
If the grommet is missing then the sharp edge can cut the insulation.

Nothing should happen when you turn the key to ACC - the Engine fuse is on the next position (IGN).

You've tried unplugging the regulator and no change if I understand?

How does the harness look where it passes through the bulkhead just below the regulator?