Desierable years (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

AlaskanWheeler

SILVER Star
Threads
I am new to the 80 series and am not very familiar with some of there options and availablity. I do know that I would like to own one for my growing family. So what years are better than others and what years should I avoid? I would mostly use it as a daily driver and moderate off-road use, I would like the factory locking diffs though. If any more info is needed please ask; this is eventually going to be my next purchase.
Thanks a lot.

As already mentioned, locking diffs place you in the 93-97 year range. If you want air bags it will be 95-97 if you do not want airbags it will be 93-94.

if you read between the lines, dan is saying go for a locked 93 :D
and in complete unbiasedness i have to agree...

The final year in a model series is always a safe bet ... so obviously 1997 is the premier year for an 80 series. Far superior to any of those previous years, especially the models that sport special ed, yellow bus trannys ... :D

;p

I went for the Lexus LX450 for the vastly superior climate control, wood trim, 6 disk CD and subwoofer! :D

Find one that fits your need in the best condition possible with good repair records and buy it! It may take some patience, they can be hard to find.

Contrary to Tyler's position, the last year of a series may be the worst*. To avoid reordering assembly parts from various automotive suppliers which have large minimum orders, they'll try to finish out the model year with whatever's on hand. Often, they'll go to a bin of previously rejected parts due to quality and use them up - such as head gaskets.