Couple of questions regarding my tranny.. (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Hey.. I've been reading this board for a couple years, and just now finally registered myself (yes I am that lame). :doh: There has been much information regarding cruisers of all types here, and I thanks for all the help that it has been.. :D I've been hanging out alot more in the 80 series forum for the past 6 months or so.. I have a couple of questions about my 1996 FJZ80 (80k miles) that have been bugging me since I bought it (in August). And, before I get any further, I want to clarify that I have done my share of searching this forum on both of these topics for months on end, and have been almost afraid to even post my questions after reading some of the flaming that has gone down on a few poor fellows.. :flipoff2: Anyways, my first problem is this strange chugging noise (sounds just like a train, and no I dont think its because its a inline 6) I get from the motor (I think it's the motor) when the transmission (A343F) just shifts into overdrive at about 45 to 50 mph, and the acceleration is slow. If I push the pedal and kick it down it goes away, just the same as if I turn overdrive off. If I aggressively accelerate through that range it seems more rumbly then smoothes back out at about 60. I bought the cruiser last August. The u-joints are all tite as could be. I have done all synthetic oil changes since I bought it.. The plugs, wires, cap, rotor, and pcv valve were changed right after I bought it. I replaced the EGR modulator with the new blue one to cure the P0401 I used to have. I removed the throttlebody and cleaned it really good a few months back. This problem has persisted since I purchased it and nothing has helped aleviate it. I've thought that maybe the trannys shift point between those two gears might be wrong, as I can accelerate up to 60 with overdrive off, then switch it on