Builds '91 PZJ77 Money Pit in Flat White (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Hey Everyone,

I just sold my trustworthy, reliable mall cruiser 100 series and jumped face first into my 1991 PZJ77. Everything seems to be in good working order, especially considering it's age. I'm not a mechanic, but i'm looking forward to learning a lot while I work through this build.

I drove it home 300 miles the night I bought it, and it performed admirably. It cruised @70-75mph without a fuss, oil temperature stayed in the bottom third of the gauge the whole time. The aftermarket radiator might have helped there.

I've ordered a new air filter cap, because mine is rusted, a hood support rod clip, and an air/fuel/oil filter set, as well as the Max Ellery repair manual for the 1hz (hopefully this works well enough with the 1pz).

The good:
1) Timing belts have been done twice (and I hope the water pumps, too)
2) No white smoke
3) No oil in my coolant or coolant in my oil, at least what I can see on the dipstick
4) Previous owner serviced the transfer case, kept up on routine maintenance, put in an auxiliary 12V electrical system, replaced batteries, tires, and put in an aftermarket radiator from Oddiron.
5) No leaks in coolant system, which bodes well for the water pump (I guess?)

Here is a (short) list of my concerns so far:
1) @Broski considered buying the same rig, and he saw there was oil dripping from the front knuckle. Maybe a front knuckle rebuild?
2) Engine shudders violently on shutdown, but is pretty smooth while running. I guess this is normal for diesels, especially these diesels? Check motor mounts maybe?
3) Someone told me that all bottom end bearings should be replaced on older 70 series. How high of a priority is this?

My plan is basically get as much of the preventative maintenance done that I can before I get into customization. What else should I do?

Thanks!