What caused this damage on speedo drive housing? (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Ok,,,I'm a true rookie. Just got my first cruiser (1980 HJ45). Decided to start by replacing all fluids and tackling leaks. When I pulled the speedo gear housing, I see this big groove cut in the end of it? Maybe its from a previous repair? Also the plastic gear was obviously well worn. Does that look to be normal wear?

IMG_1305.jpg

IMG_1304.JPG

Yep, I agree with @ Living in the Past, strip happens. I've seen plenty of stripped nylon speedo gears. I carry a spare off in the glove box since I have a 2 pulse VSS sending signals to my ECM. No gear = no go (not well, anyway).

The groove is a new one on me.

You might want to pull the rear bearing retainer/speedo drive housing off and check the drive gear. See if there are some clues to what caused the groove. Was the keeper in place when you pulled the speedo gear?

Yes, the retainer clip was in place. Gear housing pulled out easy enough. Shined light up in the hole and ran finger in. The gear inside was clean and smooth feeling. The little i have driven it, there was no grinding or unusual noise (other than normal gear noise). When I said rookie,,,I meant rookie! :) I'm a pharmacist, not a mechanic! Ha! So any recommendations are appreciated!

Just because you didn't see or feel anything in there doesn't mean there's nothing floating around in there. Based on that chip/ding, I'd do what Dick (reddingcruiser) said and pull the larger housing the speedo gear plugs into. Pick up a new seal for the housing while you're at it.

Best

Mark