Turbo Overrun (Runaway) 1HD-T (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
The Great Australian Ponzi Scheme aka The GC
OK so as the header states, I had my 1HD-T have a Runaway event this morning, managed to dump a few blasts from the extinguisher into the snorkel/baffle which starved it but it went to +9000 for a few up and down cycles with the longest it continually hit above redline being about 25 seconds tops.

The context for this event being that I put a little too much oil in this morning, I felt the turbo lagging a little bit and knew what the issue was but due to where I was (major intersection, morning commuter traffic, on ramp to motorway) so I drove about 300m onto the M1 where I knew there was a breakdown bay, unfortunately 100m before I got there it decided to run on oil instead of diesel 🤦‍♂️

I'm no mechanic by any means but I do my own servicing and know the principles behind this motor, plus I'd rather try and save some coin by ruling out some things before taking it to a mechanic who will see dollar signs when it comes in on a tilt tray.

My questions for the geniuses here are as follows:

I want to get an idea of what sort of damage has been done, I was planning on cleaning out the intake box and pipe, stripping the intake manifold and cleaning it out, then strip the turbo and clean it out. I figure after that I can put it back together, take 4 of the glow plugs out, crank it over and see if it actually turns over, if this happens then I will dump the oil and check for metal swarf (or bearing caps etc) refill and compression test each cylinder, and then try and start it. Is this the correct process to do a preliminary diagnosis for this particular context?

Best case scenario here? New turbo kit, seals, and gaskets?

Worst case scenario here? Conrods stretched/warped, head damage, turbo damage, crankshaft and bore refit?