Transitional rattle or pinging - Need some advice (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
My '96 LX450 has been suffering some faint "transitional rattle" for the last year and it is getting worse. It only happens for a second or two max, and only under zero engine load in an off-idle throttle position. It is most noticeble at low speeds, such as when slowing and then accelerating around a turn. I can also duplicate the noise at any speed by playing with the throttle. It sounds just like pinging, but it the engine does NOT ping under moderate or heavy load, and is well tuned. It only occurs at about 1/8 throttle, never at wider throttle.

I have an OBDII pgorgam with data logging, but I am not sure what parameters to check. I'm new at this stuff.

Any advice for troubleshooting? Am I looking at a bad knock sensor or ????

Thanks.

John Davies
Spokane WA

Have you checked the exhaust shields forward of the cat? Mine had a similar rattle which was just a loose shield.

I have the exact same issue...a number of us here do.

Premium makes mine go away. I have not been able to isolate a cause....yet.

I think I'm going to try some Redline Diesel Water Wetter to help alleviate the pinging.
I'm also going to try running some BG44K and Redline Fuel System Cleaner to hopefully clean out any carbon deposits that could be creating hot spots for pre-ignition.

Ping Reduction threads:
---No.1 --- No.2 --- No.3

Last edited:
I have a question for you guys, and maybe an answer:

At what point did the intake system change from using an Air Flow Meter (AFM) to a Mass Air Flow (MAF) sensor, or am I confused and they're the same thing?

Here's why I ask: