The wonders of birfeilds (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
No I didnt break one, but my question is: I am planning on doing a 3 week offroad trip through as much of colorado as I can, and: part 1, Should I carry an extra birfeild(s)? part 2: is it difficult to install a birfeild? I have never worked on anything like this before, and if something goes wrong am I going to be screwed?

-Bryan

Birfield failure in 80's is fairly un common. As Jim observed, you will now break one for sure! Field replacement is doable. It requires a decent jack, A hub nut socket and a fair assortment of metric tools. It goes easier if you have had one apart before under better conditions so you know what to expect. The trail is not the best place to train........

Mr Bryan - can't remember your truck setup, but unless you're wheeling with big tires, have a heavy foot etc, you should be fine. Now of course it also depends on mileage. This past summer, we were wheeling some mediocre stuff (others may call it hardcore) and one of my buds broke one - but he knew it was overdue for service and elected to wheel that way anyway.

If you merely exploring in the woods and driving with 33's etc, then you should be fine.

This is what a Newfield looks like when it explodes :D

broken.jpg

If you do not know how to replace it, then it does not make much sense to carry a spare. I would say, try to repack the birfields before you go on a long trip. This will give you the knowledge to replace the birfield in the field. Also, it will show you what you need in the field in terms of parts & tools.

Whatever you leave behind will be the one thing you need.

Cheers, Jim
ROFLMAO!!! Ain't that so true!! LOL!!

Christo, you try a Longfield yet? Whatcha got in the Yellow Thong (besides a :banana: ) :eek: :D Seriously, you gonna run stock till it breaks?