Squeaks and Squawks (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
I've had my 98 LC for about a year now and I love it! It's got about 276,000 miles on it and runs perfect!

I pull a 6x12 covered trailer twice a week for our church. Fully loaded - it weighs about 2,000 to 2,500 lbs. The Cruiser pulls it just fine - however, over the course of the last 6 months, it's developed a constant squeaking and squawking.

The squeaking and squawking is getting bad enough that just getting into the rig causes it to squeal in agony (I'm about 205 - so I hope that's not the reason).

Anyways - my wife wants me to upgrade to a pickup (Silverado - ugh) - but I hate that idea. So - I could use some advice as to what to look for.

I'm not that good at fixing things and I don't have that many tools - so if it's harder then unscrewing bolts and hammering things in and out of place, I'm probably going to have to get some outside help.

Where should I start looking and what should I start trying to replace to fix the squeaking and squawking?

I don't know how other people do it, but this is how I do it. If you can make the noise with the vehicle parked, have your wife or someone else stand on the running board or in the door sill and bounce up and down, while you bend down and listen at all 4 corners. Try to pinpoint the sound.

For suspension noises you can hear while moving, I find a speed bump in a low-traffic parking lot, and hang my head out the window while going at the minimum speed that makes the sound. If necessary I'll have my wife drive while I hang listen out different windows, and/or I'll stand nearby and listen.