SIMPLE QUESTION, wanting simple answers (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
How "hard" will rebuilding a 3fe be?
I'm a "young" mechanic by trade i have all the tools i could possibly need, done a whole lot of range in work but rebuilding an engine i have not done before...
i know i will need an FSM since ALLDATA(or nodata) or prodemand(actually ive yet to check but my guess is same) do not have procedures...

anybody got any input? i just want a simple yeah dude tackle it or idk man it could be tricky, i mean if you wanna talk story we can too i just have no patience for sarcastic answers lmao

No different than any other inline 6 before the 90s. It's a very straight-forward, simple engine. Fuel injection adds complexity and some additional sleuthing/replacement as needed. Probably one of the simplest engines aside from a 2F or earlier chevy/dodge/ford I6. If you're a young mechanic by trade and actually spin wrenches with some competency, asking the forum for the proverbial green light begs to question your capability/confidence (not cause for argument, just stating a fact). Yes it can be done, it's done by many people, but you and your skills are the unknown as well as the tools at your disposal tools and cause for rebuild. The FSM tells you everything you'd ever need to know on rebuilding these motors. Get a manual, read it, analyze it against your comfort zone.

Rebuilding an engine is not a simple task and your skills are unknown, so this could become a mess very quickly. This will become an expensive endeavor if you aren't focused and patient. Everyone can do it, not everyone can do it right.

Having said all that - sack up and do it. You'll learn what to do and not to do very quickly and what you're capable of.