Scotty’s moby dick build

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Hello mud
I’ve been hanging around on here for a few months now, what a great site with some awesome information!
This will be my first build thread and is kind of slow, I am only 19 so the funds are pretty tight.
I’m very familiar with Toyota’s, my first vehicle was a 1997 5speed 4runner with the rear e locker. It was sweet. But wanted something bigger and with a solid axle
So I turned to an 80 series.
I started looking and due to budget restrictions I wanted one that was factory locked, that was it.

After a few months I came across this
1997 3x locked Lexus lx450.
6” slee
35” bias ply Trepadors
Arb bumpers front and rear
An extremely clean frame and body

I almost instantly fell in love. Despite the clear work it needed.
Oil pump gasket
Rust on rear bottom quarter panels
The smell of cigarettes
Tie rods
Only high fan speed
Birfs leaking grease
But it was all stuff I knew i could handle

I wasn’t happy it was already partly built, but I later realized it was better that way. I could focus on what it needed.

The first order of business was a cb install
I followed this thread mainly 80/LX450 CB Install

Used a uniden 520 xl
4ft firestik
Ditched the cigarette lighter and put the cb on that 12v circuit (now on blue sea)
Went wheeling with some jeeps

With winter fast approaching I got some falken wildpeak at3/w as I had them on the 4runner and was satisfied with them as “winter” tires.

What I wanted now was some form of rear storage. The thing came with the biggest sub box I’ve ever seen!
Started with a 2x2 Douglas fir frame
Used 1/2 and 3/8 plywood to construct the drawers.
Ignore the beer fridge girl:beer:;)

In its final position

Tired of using Jeep buddy’s arb dual and couldn’t stomach spending the cash on one. I figured I’d try a viair 400h. Pretty impressed with the thing honestly.