Rust Assessment: 2008 TLC with 90k miles (I'm totally new to J200's) (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

No way I'd spend $37k for that. I'd spend $25k sure, but $37? No thanks

Yes as someone used to rust, that is in line for an Illinois vehicle.

I personally think it's a not a wise decision to even think of trading a 2019 4R for a 2008. You're gonna loose, then on top the 200 will need work, like all vehicles from 2008 do even if it a Land Cruiser.

Thats a $25-27k truck back in 2020 before all this stupid weird market times.

Right off the bat, you probably need the water pump and rad replaced. And then the rust wirebrushed and painted again.

If it were in the $20s, I'd pick it up and live with the rust, it's not a big deal. But trading a near brand new 4R for that? No effing way. I'd stick with the 4runner in any scenario.

Hope this post knocks some sense into you and this would be a stupid decision if you followed through with it.

Awful market for buyers and you loose either way as a seller and you have to get into another vehicle.

I have no idea where people are coming up with saying a 2008 LC from the Midwest with 90k miles and $37k is an awesome deal. I've been following the prices of 200s since they came out in 2008. In 2011-12, I could grab at retail price basically the exact same LC and miles you posted for $37-41k.

You wanna do what???

I’ve got an LX so no KDSS, and unfortunately no experience that I can communicate here.

I do agree with others that $36k seems steep for that vehicle.

If you’re not in a rush, keep shopping.
Off topic, but IMO this circus with astronomical prices (for everything) will be over and done with by spring at the latest. We’re about to slide into a major economic crisis in the short term, and deals will be available for those with cash on hand.