RHD - LHD E locker swap questions (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
I have a pair of locked axles from a 1991 RHD HDJ81 and I would like to put them under my 1997 FZJ80. I know I will have to cut certain mounts off of the LHD axles and weld them onto the RHD axle (no big deal for me as Im a welder by trade) what I am hung up on is ABS. the older JDM axles didn't come equipped with abs sensors.
I am wondering if I can simply take the steering knuckles and birfields off of the 1997 LHD axles and put them on the 1991 RHD axles? Do I need to transfer the spindles and axle flages as well? I am just starting to scratch the surface of this project. so my apologies if this information is readily available

I’m thinking you swap your birfs with the ‘97 ABS rings on them into the ‘91 housings, and maybe cut/weld the ABS sensor mounts ‘97 > ‘91 axle shells & done deal.

RR axle:
The RR axle housing needs all the longer 3rd member studs from the ‘91 into the ‘97 shell otherwise, and a locker 3rd member gasket will template where to notch the flange for the ring gear.

I’ve never tried to swap a semi-float to a full float, so no idea there.

FR axle:
The FR is alot more work at the flange for the 3rd, so I’d sooner add any ABS provisions / the magnet sensor mount - than convert the ‘97 housing to accept a locker 3rd member at the flange.

That’s the short answer IMO.

Just swap the 3rd members. Much easier.
agreed that its much less work to swap 3rd members. how ever a friend of mine went this rout on his fzj80 and had big problems with leaks I think his issue had to do with water getting in not necessarily oil getting out. I cannot remember exactly what his logic was. I recall him saying that it was near imposable even with a mag drill to drill perfectly plumb and centred holes for the new studs. he figured his leaks were the result of this misalignment.

Last edited: