Rear FJ60 Leaf Springs on my FJ40 (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Hello all,
I'm a newbie, so please go easy. I have a 72 FJ40 project I'm basically just starting. This is a resto-mod and I'm doing a 2001 LM7 and full width axles. My specific question is this. I hear or have read where a popular swap is putting FJ60 rear leaf springs on the rear of the 40. My install will be a Spring over as I plan on 3 linking the front with coil overs. Specifically my question for those that have done this or seen it done here, can you give detailed specifics as far as springs to use, flat or lifted, spring count you used , did you relocate your rear hangers and what length shackles did you use? Or if someone can point me to a thread with this info I would be very grateful. TIA!

My intention is to do King Coil overs in the front with the 3 link. I worry about linking the rear with Large coil overs and eating into space in the rear wheel well and next to the rear bench seat where my kids will ride. This isn't going to be a competition rig. I'm looking at 60% street and beach and 40% medium to difficult trail time. I want an extremely capable trail rig with a comfortable street ride and be able to lug my 2 small kids in the back. in both places.