Radiator Replacement- Lend a Hand? (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Hey Gang, new to the area and my 94 cruiser needs of a new radiator. I am considering doing the work my self but was curious if anyone in the area is interested in lending a helping hand. I am relatively new to working on my rig and could use a little guidance to make sure I don't get stuck.

Has anyone swapped a radiator on an FZJ80? It seems pretty straight forward but could use some tips or guidance. I also have some questions about the exact radiator I should use. I believe my truck is a 94 but it has a build date of late 94 (Sept 1994) so I'm thinking it might be a 95. There appears to be a difference between the 94 and 95 so I am not sure which one I actually should get, the Koyo for the 95 is 1/2 the price so I'd like to go with it but want to be sure it fits! Going to post this on one of the specific threads on the topic too but wanted to see if there was any local experience.

I'm located in Kennesaw and the truck is still in driving shape, hoping to install the new radiator next weekend.

Thanks!

If it's anything like a mini truck it's less than a 1 :banana: job. Should be 4 bolts and 2 hose clamps.

Not sure about 1FZ trucks, but on a 3FE the fan and fan clutch have to be removed at the same time the shroud comes out, then rad bolts, coolant hoses and trans cooler lines and overflow and out it should come.

Is your dash rounded or more squared off? Do you have a passenger side airbag? If you dash looks like this:

20150517_150035.jpg

Its a 94, if not and it's more square, then its likely a 95.

Hth

Easy peasy job. Curious why it needs a radiator. I'll help if you need it.
The top plastic tank cracked and JB weld was not a sufficient fix