Radiator out. Attack HG too? (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Coolant system gave up the ghost this past weekend. Rig is a '97 with 212K miles - pretty much all original parts. I've already torn the radiator out and disassembled a good portion of the front end. Also doing PHH. My question is -- should I just attack the HG as well? Given the amount of disassembly I've already done, and the work I'm committed to doing with the coolant system overhaul, is there substantial efficiency in doing the HG now?

IMG_0308.JPG

IMG_0309.JPG

What?! No. You haven't done as much disassembly as you think. I'm not an expert but I've had the whole front face off the truck (replaced radiator core support). I think you've only done the easy part; not to mention the cost.

That is unless you mean valve cover. You've got good access to the valve cover.

What?! No. You haven't done as much disassembly as you think. I'm not an expert but I've had the whole front face off the truck (replaced radiator core support). I think you've only done the easy part; not to mention the cost.

That is unless you mean valve cover. You've got good access to the valve cover.

Yeah, I know I have a long way to go to remove the head. I'm mostly just thinking that with the radiator out and the extra open space up front, is this the best time. There's no signs in a HG issue, but it's got 212K miles. I caught the coolant leak pretty early so it doesn't appear that I overheated anything. Still drained a full radiator.

Nah...just get the coolant system done, button it back up, and Cruise on!