Need Help with VIN and Engine decode. (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Hi everyone, 75 FJ40 here I need help decoding the VIN.

VIN = FJ40196213 From what I read online it doest tell me much.

This VIN page talks about letters and numbers...however my VIN just has FJ for letters and thats it... am I looking at somthing wrong here...is there a production plate that has the numbers and letters located on it..
IE...soft top/hardtop/transmission/3speed/4speed??

Engine block number is 2F13030....

any help in this area or where to look would be great.

this is the website i was using for VIN info, but its confusing...

Yes I'm new to FJ ownership so be gentle...haha

Also, looking at pics, does this look like an original 4 speed or was it originally a 3 on tree then converted?

Thanks for help
IMG_6118.JPG
IMG_6124.JPG
IMG_6128.JPG
IMG_6129.JPG
IMG_6130.JPG

There are two VIN plates. The one with information your looking should be on the passenger's fender. Look at the fender below the battery and you should find it. It is held on by two sheet metal screws. If your in the US that four speed would have been standard. From your pictures everything looks pretty stock.

The VIN really just tells you it's a FJ40 and serial #. The True VIN is the one under the hood and it has a model number that show the information on what type of FJ40 it is.

ok cool... time to bust out the old elbow grease... hopeflly it doest rub off letters..

from the inside shots looks original right? manual floor transmision ... just in case i can't read the data plate...

BTW your tranny if original will have a removable side cover... yes should be manual floor shift

the engine mayhave been rebuilt? or somebody liked orange.... originally would have been black

drives side fender was replaced... they come primer black

do you have the carb?

yes the carb is 2bbl rochester....