My version of the PHH bypass! (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Well, I finally did my PHH and wanted to give my experience being that I am by no means a master mechanic like many of my fellow mudders that have saved my bacon more than a few times! I wanted to show the average two car garage and jack stand kid of guys that this is not nearly what people work it up to be. Here we go:

1- first I blocked the rear wheels, got the rig in the air and removed the drivers side tire and inner skirt. Also remove the bolts for the dipstick. I didnt do this until the end and wished i would have done it sooner. I slid a light in a gap facing the PHH so I could have good light the entire time which really helped. Drain the radiator and don't make a mess like I did!!! The petcock is on the drivers side at the bottom.

2- next I used what was probably the best 8 dollar HF investment I have ever done! I attached a pic of them. These pliers were vital in every single step! I work off a budget so I was not going to go out and buy anything specialized and I don't own a die grinder. I reached in with the angled pair and hooked the old style clamp and just bent it around for a minute until it finally snapped. Then I was able to reach in with the straight pair and remove the clamp that was closest to the block. Then with the straight pair I shoved them under the rubber to break the metal away from the rubber.

3- I went back to the top and undid the bolt holding the metal pipe to the block. Instead of removing everything to get to the second bolt holding the pipe to the block, I just jiggled it until it snapped off. While doing this, the pipe pulled out of the hose.

4- I went back under the rig and used the long pliers to pull the hose from the block! This whole process only took about 45 minutes.