Mini truck power steering (accessory post to Romer's awesome writeup) (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
This is only accessory information to the awesome writeup by Romer on the Mini truck power steering conversion - read that first . These are my random notes on how to do this fast-ish (I have toddlers and super limited wrenching time nowadays).

Disclaimer: I am not a mechanic and don't profess to be so if anything in here is wrong, well I'm no pro. Happy to learn from y'all as always so send feedback

Huge thanks to Romer and his writeup!

My Parts List:

-JT outfitters high pressure line,
-JTO Frame bracket,
-Reman Saginaw pump from JTO
-PS box from a 79-85 mini truck , 4wd.
-Eight 3/8" grade 8 bolts x 2 inch for mounting box to bracket and bracket to frame with washers and lock washers and nuts
-5 more 3/8 by 3/4 long" bolts with washers for filling unused mounting holes on Saginaw pump
-Silicone sealant for bolt threads
-Optional: Power steering cooler from Amazon (recommended by some).
-Belt - the one that fit mine (yours may vary) was a AutoZone 'Armor Mark' 4L500
-Lucas PS fluid 2 quarts

Definitely remove the fender. Way easier access for steps. Wouldn't even consider optional.
I had to get a 18"breaker bar from Lowes to loosen the front two head bolts for the JTO ps pump bracket. Get one, you'll use it again.
My child before buying breaker bar: "Dada why are you all sweaty?"
The JTO high pressure line needs no o-ring or fitting on the Saginaw end , and DOES need a brass compression fitting on the box side. Mine came with the PS Toyota box.

You HAVE to use the pitman arm off the manual box - the mini truck pitman is too long - use impact gun and PB blaster soak overnight .

Hint: Borrow or buy an electric or pneumatic impact gun to make old bolts removal easy and fast for this job.