Just got a LN65 2L Turbo'ed Diesel (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Hope everyone is doing well, as the title says I just got a 1986 LN65 for a good price of ~10k USD, previous seller claimed he rebuilt the engine and then put a tiny Garett vw transporter turbo to it. I'm completely new to Hilux's and have no experience with this chassis, closest thing I have is the LC100 v8, but seeing how everything is mechanical I'm sure I can perform any fixes in house. I would greatly appreciate any help from this forum on what to look out for and any suggestions for fixes on chronical issues with this drivetrain/body. Also I'm sturggling to find a pdf of FSM, if someone could help me with that it would be much appreciated.

I read a lot that the 2L is famous for cracks on the head, so far so good, the ideal boost pressure is 6-9 psi but when I flat out I can see max 15 psi which might be a concern, I will adjust the blowoff valve accordingly and drop pressures for the sake of reliability. If I drop a valve I will do a cost analysis and consider an engine swap, BD30 is cheap and easy to work on but will it fit? Also I've seen a guy put a PD130 1.9tdi which seems interesting but I will wait till time comes.

To-do list in no specific priority;
  1. Adding an intercooler, also I might fabricate my own high flowing manifolds. First I need a Pyro to see my EGT and I will decide after that.
  2. I need an oil dipstick, I suppose the turbo oil lines are currently going through where the dipstick would have been.
  3. Fix the nightmare wiring job, there is a short I believe where smoke comes out of the dash when I turn on the aftermarket exterior lights. Also add a new waterproof fusebox
  4. Regular maintenance, new timing belt, oil change, radiator flush as the water in there is brown but still watery, no signs of oil mixture :)