Is this the sound of a failing water pump??? (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Hi Everyone,

I've been trying to track down some under-hood noise and I've uploaded a video to share in an effort for some help. I know the Alternator Idler Pulley is bad because of the grinding sound and how loosely it wobbles. The water pump itself it tight... it just makes this weird rubbing on rubber sound. It doesn't seem normal to me, but I'm no expert. Here's the video:

How many miles on the water pump? My 1FZFE water pump made the same noise when it had a little over 200,000 miles on it, replaced it, no noise. The alternator belt idler pulley bearing sounds dry, time to replace it.

You can rule out the idler pulley by removing it and see if noise is still present. Some guys run without them.
If it is indeed water pump order Aisin on Rock Auto using 5% off coupon (search).
Doubt you will find cheaper than $56.79 + Shipping.
Gates sells a belt tightening tool ($12) to ensure your belts are tight enough.

How many miles on the water pump? My 1FZFE water pump made the same noise when it had a little over 200,000 miles on it, replaced it, no noise. The alternator belt idler pulley bearing sounds dry, time to replace it.

There are 278k miles on the odometer, but I've owned it less than a year. I don't have any vehicle history of the water pump ever being replaced. Okay, that's good to know about yours... I think I'm going to replace mine then. Hate to skimp on $100 here and pay $1000 more for a blown radiator/head gasket or whatever.

If your water pump is an AISIN part the date should be embossed on the pump body. Using a digital camera you should be able to grab a photo and then magnify it to see what year the pump was manufactured. FWIW.
Landcruiser water pump date.jpg