How do you tap into

Joined
Jan 30, 2003
Messages
535
the fuse box for a power supply. I am looking for a 12v power supply for my hei. How do you guys tap into the fusebox. Sorry for the noobish question, I am an electrical moron. :D
 
Joined
Feb 6, 2002
Messages
15,387
Location
OC, CA
Best way would be to run it off the stock key-on "engine" fuse circuit. This circuit is the wires that are black with a yellow stripe that originally ran to the coil, idle solenoid, VSV, etc.
 
Joined
Jan 2, 2003
Messages
412
Location
So. Calif.
Your fuse block will have two male spade fittings on the front side. One is for keyed-power, and the other is constant power. You may have to unbolt the fuse block from the pillar to see the fittings. ::)
 

woody

Staff member
Admin
Joined
Jan 15, 2002
Messages
10,345
Location
Toquerville UT
I've used both of those spade fittings for external fuse blocks with great success....

But the black/yellow stripe wire is what connects to your HEI coil input. This is not only run-hot but also start-hot, which is important.
 
Joined
Feb 20, 2002
Messages
302
Location
Coeur d’Alene, Idaho
When you say start-hot you mean while cranking,correct?
I am doing a TBI conversion and am trying to find the correct wire that is hot while on/running/cranking.
 

woody

Staff member
Admin
Joined
Jan 15, 2002
Messages
10,345
Location
Toquerville UT
yeppers....hot while cranking....and that's the black-yellow wire in the Cruiser harness.

See the tech section/Chev swaps for some TBI 350 wire diagrams I just linked up today....
 
Joined
Jan 30, 2003
Messages
535
Thanks once again guys for your comments and suggestions. I have to buy a multimeter I guess.
 
Joined
Jan 22, 2003
Messages
8,118
Location
Kansastitty
Scott,
Another suggestion would be to use your existing ignition-on wire in the stock loom and instead of running it straight to your HEI (it's too small) run it to a 30 amp relay that draws it's power straight from the battery. Then run a 10ga wire from the relay to the HEI. The HEI calls for a 10 ga wire. However I did wire mine direct, with no problems....yet. But I plan on wiring in the relay.
I'm still a "Rookie" so somebody please grade my paper. Seriously
Ed Long
 

woody

Staff member
Admin
Joined
Jan 15, 2002
Messages
10,345
Location
Toquerville UT
I did the relay on my carbed 350 for a while...there was no seat-of-the-pants difference at all. On my TBI350 install, I just used the wire direct.
 
Joined
Dec 29, 2002
Messages
2,692
Location
nashville, tn
hey guys,

i just finished my HEI (and in a hurry so i could actually go home over spring break, ha ha). i haven't done the fuse/relay thing yet.

could someone explain to me how and why for this? i'd be real grateful, esp. b/c i have no electrical experience whatsoever.

thanks,
jonathan
 
Joined
Jan 22, 2003
Messages
8,118
Location
Kansastitty
Like I said, no problems with it wired direct, yet, but my experience with automotive wiring is, the bigger the better, with the appropriate fuse and/or relay. I don't think it is as much a performance issue as it is a safety issue. If GM calls for a 10ga wire, believe me they're not going to specify a wire any larger then necessary. IMHO
Ed Long
I hate electrical fires, they're so very....well...stinky and they fry a lot of sh*t
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Top Bottom