How do you tap into

Discussion in '40- & 55-Series Tech' started by ScottFJ40, Mar 25, 2003.

  1. ScottFJ40

    ScottFJ40

    Messages:
    536
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2003
    the fuse box for a power supply. I am looking for a 12v power supply for my hei. How do you guys tap into the fusebox. Sorry for the noobish question, I am an electrical moron. :D
     
  2. Pin_Head

    Pin_Head

    Messages:
    14,553
    Likes Received:
    2,193
    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2002
    Location:
    OC, CA
    Best way would be to run it off the stock key-on "engine" fuse circuit. This circuit is the wires that are black with a yellow stripe that originally ran to the coil, idle solenoid, VSV, etc.
     
  3. Vortec_Cruiser

    Vortec_Cruiser

    Messages:
    414
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Location:
    So. Calif.
    Your fuse block will have two male spade fittings on the front side. One is for keyed-power, and the other is constant power. You may have to unbolt the fuse block from the pillar to see the fittings. ::)
     
  4. woody

    woody unhelpful spotter Staff Member Admin

    Messages:
    10,819
    Media:
    317
    Albums:
    8
    Likes Received:
    2,503
    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2002
    Location:
    Toquerville UT
    I've used both of those spade fittings for external fuse blocks with great success....

    But the black/yellow stripe wire is what connects to your HEI coil input. This is not only run-hot but also start-hot, which is important.
     
  5. Webster

    Webster

    Messages:
    255
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2002
    Location:
    Coeur d’Alene, Idaho
    When you say start-hot you mean while cranking,correct?
    I am doing a TBI conversion and am trying to find the correct wire that is hot while on/running/cranking.
     
  6. woody

    woody unhelpful spotter Staff Member Admin

    Messages:
    10,819
    Media:
    317
    Albums:
    8
    Likes Received:
    2,503
    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2002
    Location:
    Toquerville UT
    yeppers....hot while cranking....and that's the black-yellow wire in the Cruiser harness.

    See the tech section/Chev swaps for some TBI 350 wire diagrams I just linked up today....
     
  7. ScottFJ40

    ScottFJ40

    Messages:
    536
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2003
    Thanks once again guys for your comments and suggestions. I have to buy a multimeter I guess.
     
  8. Degnol

    Degnol

    Messages:
    8,121
    Media:
    16
    Albums:
    1
    Likes Received:
    21
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2003
    Location:
    Kansastitty
    Scott,
    Another suggestion would be to use your existing ignition-on wire in the stock loom and instead of running it straight to your HEI (it's too small) run it to a 30 amp relay that draws it's power straight from the battery. Then run a 10ga wire from the relay to the HEI. The HEI calls for a 10 ga wire. However I did wire mine direct, with no problems....yet. But I plan on wiring in the relay.
    I'm still a "Rookie" so somebody please grade my paper. Seriously
    Ed Long
     
  9. woody

    woody unhelpful spotter Staff Member Admin

    Messages:
    10,819
    Media:
    317
    Albums:
    8
    Likes Received:
    2,503
    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2002
    Location:
    Toquerville UT
    I did the relay on my carbed 350 for a while...there was no seat-of-the-pants difference at all. On my TBI350 install, I just used the wire direct.
     
  10. 72cruiser

    72cruiser

    Messages:
    2,709
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2002
    Location:
    nashville, tn
    hey guys,

    i just finished my HEI (and in a hurry so i could actually go home over spring break, ha ha). i haven't done the fuse/relay thing yet.

    could someone explain to me how and why for this? i'd be real grateful, esp. b/c i have no electrical experience whatsoever.

    thanks,
    jonathan
     
  11. Degnol

    Degnol

    Messages:
    8,121
    Media:
    16
    Albums:
    1
    Likes Received:
    21
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2003
    Location:
    Kansastitty
    Like I said, no problems with it wired direct, yet, but my experience with automotive wiring is, the bigger the better, with the appropriate fuse and/or relay. I don't think it is as much a performance issue as it is a safety issue. If GM calls for a 10ga wire, believe me they're not going to specify a wire any larger then necessary. IMHO
    Ed Long
    I hate electrical fires, they're so very....well...stinky and they fry a lot of sh*t
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.