HJ47 Troopy Build (Thomas) (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
I have a 1984 HJ47 troopy named Thomas
This is my first build (rookie) so here for advice and help
Located: Logan, Queensland Australia

Build plan:
Front Diff:
80 series, Elocker, Leaf sprung, manual hubs

Rear Diff:
80 series, Detroit locker, ladder bars, Leaf sprung

Engine:
Stock 2h (until funds increase)

Gearbox/transfer
Stock 4spd (until funds increase)

Body:
Full Roll cage
Custom pop top camper
Widen rear from behind doors
Raise and widen front flairs
Standard bulbar with highmount winch
Custom tube rear bar with toe ball, recovery points and winch
Windscreen vents
Easy fold down windscreen for hunting
Slide out drop down fridge from passenger side
Chassis powder coated
Colour undecided (cream or green)

Design Criteria:
Budget $10,000
Touring/expedition
Reliability

I work and study full time and I use my dads shed in Logan (live in Brisbane) so this is a slow build.

IMG_0935.JPG

nice looking troopy.

welcome to the addiction :p

HAHA That's what happens when parents let a 7 year old name the new 4wd.

Can anyone suggest upgrades i should be making to the chassis, suspension or diffs since that's what i'm starting on?
i want to have 33" tyres on most of the time and 35" for 4wd trips.

Does anyone know if I should be changing the rear shock angle, i want to get longer shocks anyway so the mounts will change, just not sure if i should keep them angled in or go more vertical. I want to get all the mounts right before i put the chassis in for powder coating.

Instead of body lift for the 35" tyres i'm going to be raising the front guards and changing the rear if i need to, i'd like to keep the centre of gravity as low as possible while getting the travel i need.

nice 47 mate, finally another on here.