ECU with V8 swap

Joined
Sep 1, 2004
Messages
2,405
Location
So. Austin, tx
I've tried the search function...but have'nt been able to find and answer here.

I'm going with the 350 tbi for which I have have the wiring harness, but will I need to source the Chevy ECU for the swap? Any info is appreciated...


Thanks in advance,
Luis
 

Tinker

 
Joined
Apr 15, 2004
Messages
2,865
Location
Larkspur, CO
Which wiring harness do you have? Painless's are great & have detailed instructions. If your tbi is stock GM, get the proper ECU from a recycler.
 
Joined
May 19, 2005
Messages
686
Joined
Sep 1, 2004
Messages
2,405
Location
So. Austin, tx
Toadhopper said:
Make sure, however,
that you get one from an 8 cyl vehicle with a manual
transmission (if you plane to use a VSS). QUOTE]

my engined is off a 1988 gmc 350tbi...
 
Joined
Sep 1, 2004
Messages
2,405
Location
So. Austin, tx
Tinker said:
Which wiring harness do you have? Painless's are great & have detailed instructions. If your tbi is stock GM, get the proper ECU from a recycler.
I have the original gm...I'll look into the painless...it is stock GM, by recycler do you mean junkyard?
 
Joined
May 19, 2005
Messages
686
meatloaf said:
Toadhopper said:
Make sure, however,
that you get one from an 8 cyl vehicle with a manual
transmission (if you plane to use a VSS). QUOTE]

my engined is off a 1988 gmc 350tbi...
You can use the existing ECM case and replace the chip inside with the appropriate one. There are usually numbers on the outside that indicate which chip is inside.
 
Joined
Sep 1, 2004
Messages
2,405
Location
So. Austin, tx
Toadhopper said:
meatloaf said:
You can use the existing ECM case and replace the chip inside with the appropriate one. There are usually numbers on the outside that indicate which chip is inside.
When you say exsisting ECU, do you mean Chevy or Toy? I know it's probably a dumb question, but...

Thanks.
 
Top Bottom