Brake Lines: Complete Braided SS (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
So I'm still working on my 40 and considering brake lines. Is it practical or recommend to use all braided stainless steel lines?

They would be all custom made. The plan is to run a dedicated line for each axle and only tee each line once for each wheel.

I have a 4-runner master cylinder, rear disc conversion, and factory discs up front so buying off the shelf may not work very well. I have two companies lined up to request quotes from. One site mentioned lines can be done for around $200. That's still TBD.

Eliminating hard lines altogether? If that is what you mean I'd recommend against it. Braided lines are more flexible than hard and will produce a softer pedal.

Keep your hard lines.. Everybody carries hard lines. It's very difficult to replace stainless braided if you have a failure. It's also hard to pinch a soft line shut to get out of a bad situation.

Mace, that's the issue. I don't have any lines now. I'm trying to decide how to move forward.

I can buy a complete set from SOR but will trash half of them because of existing mods they won't work. Their online catalog does not offer individual lines. Making my own lines is just not something I want to tackle or have time to fool with honestly. I want to buy and bolt on. I guess another option would be to call around and see who offers prefit hardlines.

I thought about doing complete stainless as well, but a reputable hose/fitting store here told me not to. They said it makes the system mushy, as the soft lines will expand slightly. I believe them, as it would have been in their best interest to make me long soft lines.

Thank you for your suggestions. I guess I need to either find someone that is experienced at making hard lines that don't leak or buy some preformed.