Blowing Coolant and overheating. Blown Head Gasket ??? (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Hey All.... I just had a new Denzo radiator and thermostat installed because my '96 was overheating under load. It still overheats and now it's spitting coolant from somewhere under the manifold (see photos.. red arrows). I am no mechanic. Is this a heat gasket situation? During a trip from Southern Oregon to Seattle towing a utility trailer I could only get 90 to 130 miles down the road before the temperature gauge hit red. I stop, let things cool and refill the radiator -- rinse, repeat -- making for a very long trip! Also, it is not sucking the coolest from the overflow for some reason.

What's happening here boys and girls? 🤷‍♂️🙂

IMG_1746.jpeg

IMG_1747.jpeg

there is coolant hoses under the red arrows that need to be replaced...throttle body hose and the PHH ...

You can pull the throttle body coolant line in place by removing throttle body and using long angle pliers for the top and through the wheel well for the bottom, there is another hose on the fwd side of throttle body and one more after.
Throttle body coolant hoses 1,2,3

Last edited:
Search in this forum for PHH (Pesky Heater Hose), also Bypass hose.
Either or both could be the cause of your leak(s).

If your heater hose was leaking, you'd know it; you wouldn't have to ask.

There is, as stated above, a throttle body coolant (heating, actually) hose in that area. There is also a freeze plug and block drain. Any of those could be the source of the leak. It could also be the headgasket. There's really no way to be sure, without pulling at least the upper intake. You can replace the throttle body hose without doing that, but you can't troubleshoot the problem that way.