Aux Fan wiring help (2 Viewers)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
I would like to install a pusher fan to increase AC cooling during summer together with a revamp AC system and parallel condenser. I'm not very good at wiring, even reading electrical wiring diagram so I would need the instructions that a 6 year old would understand.

Reading ABC of cooling, I plan on hooking it up to the medium pressure switch in the AC plus an override ON switch for hot and slow traffic days. How do you make an override OFF so the fan will not run when the vehicle is not running regardless of AC pressure?

Parts:
Spal VA01-AP70/LL-36S
Toyota switch (3 prong)
Painless relay kit
  1. SPST 40 Amp relay
  2. 30 Amp circuit breaker
  3. Relay base with harness (6' input, 4' output
Thank you!

24-02-27 21-29-03 1029.jpg

24-02-27 21-31-02 1030.jpg

24-02-27 21-31-41 1031.jpg

24-02-27 21-34-24 1032.jpg

24-02-27 21-35-25 1033.jpg

You asked: How do you make an override OFF so the fan will not run when the vehicle is not running regardless of AC pressure?

You could use a power source for your fan relay that is only energized when the ignition is on.

I'd probably wire the relay to constant 12v power and use a 3 position switch, wiring one position for always on, one position for always off and one position for "normal" (thermostat controlled electric fan) behavior (on vehicles that come stock with electric fans) - so it can be used to continue to cool the engine even while the engine isn't running when it is too hot.

I wired a former rally car like this and it gives you lots of options.

You didn't ask this, but as the above poster alluded to, you may be able to replace/service your fan clutch to increase cooling rather than add a pusher fan.

Last edited: