1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

are u guys running an aux fuse box?

Discussion in '80-Series Tech' started by lx450landcruiser, Jan 20, 2004.

  1. lx450landcruiser

    lx450landcruiser Moderator

    Messages:
    2,779
    Likes Received:
    6
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2003
    Location:
    Uganda
    ok i have 6 lights in front, 2 lights on each side, 2 lights in the rear, a CB radio, a stereo amp ect....... all of which is coming off the battery pos so its getting kinda clustered. i was woundering are all you guys with this many accecorys running aux fuse boxes? or i have seen a clamp that attached to the pos post, its kinda like a metal bar that extends off the pos post and has a bunch of plugs so you can plug in your wires with out the cluster of them all being bunched together. any one see this?

    thanks
    mike
     
  2. Junk

    Junk

    Messages:
    6,177
    Likes Received:
    27
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2002
    Location:
    buggerville nj
    I run military terminals on the batts, with some juicy thick wire back to 2 remote boxes, 1 under the ps front seat (idea pilfered from Christo) and the other to the rear ds quarter panel. Makes a huge difference. Both boxes have both switched and constant power.
     
  3. T Y L E R

    T Y L E R

    Messages:
    2,597
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
  4. ParadiseCruiser

    ParadiseCruiser

    Messages:
    620
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    I also use two aux fuse blocks.

    The first one is behind the aux battery (here, with the box & connections removed) for exterior lights, etc...

    The second, also a carbon copy of Christo's installation, under the PS seat for interior accessories, fed by the large gauge maxi-fused cable visible in the first pix...

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    Cheers, R -
     
  5. Junk

    Junk

    Messages:
    6,177
    Likes Received:
    27
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2002
    Location:
    buggerville nj
    Flatlander - bite your tongue. I'm :ban: from Radio Shack. Seems as though they didn't like the fact I was trying out one of their soldiering irons in their store. ::) :flipoff2: Then again, I hate that place and wouldn't buy anything there unless emergency.

    Only top notch stuff. In fact most of my high end cabling is welding cable. :D :D
     
  6. Greddy0

    Greddy0

    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2003
    I like the fuse blocks. Where u guys get them from? On-line site?
     
  7. drohweder

    drohweder

    Messages:
    1,151
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Location:
    Golden, CO
    Very Clean and convienent! I like it. Tell us where you got the stuff so we can copy you:). Where can you get military terminals, and where do we find these aux fuse boxes? Thanks, I've got a 55 I need to wire us some spare boxes into.
     
  8. bkgiii

    bkgiii SILVER Star

    Messages:
    479
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2003
    Location:
    Gulf Coast
    Having less demanding needs than some of the other folks here, I used a 7 circuit auxiliary box for some of the less current-hungry stuff: http://www.painlessperformance.com/catalogframe.htm

    My Optima has both top and side terminals, so I've tapped some aux lighting to the side terminals.
     
  9. ParadiseCruiser

    ParadiseCruiser

    Messages:
    620
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    Tyler cited a source for the interior fuse block - Ben at Slee Offroad also has a source, I believe. The exterior 10-circuit block I used is a Echlin FB6414 fuse block (available from Napa) - one of many in their catelog to choose from, as are others from other national chain auto parts retailers.

    A closer look at my under-the-hood setup... the relays control the aux battery charging circuit.

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    Cheers, R -
     
  10. Beowulf

    Beowulf

    Messages:
    12,529
    Likes Received:
    52
    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    Location:
    Somewhere in the foothills...
    Ron,
    >> the relays control the aux battery charging circuit. <<

    I would be very interested in more information on this.

    -B-
     
  11. ParadiseCruiser

    ParadiseCruiser

    Messages:
    620
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
  12. Beowulf

    Beowulf

    Messages:
    12,529
    Likes Received:
    52
    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    Location:
    Somewhere in the foothills...
    Ron,
    I'm familiar with those sources. A dual battery set up is the next project now that I've finished the onboard air fiasco. I'm open to ideas at this stage. I'm still leaning toward the Hellroaring unit that Yomama installed a few years ago.

    -B-
     
  13. Gumby

    Gumby Supamod Staff Member s-Moderator

    Messages:
    12,005
    Likes Received:
    464
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2002
    Location:
    Knee deep in hookers and gin
    A maxi fuse box from a Mercury Sable.
     
  14. Gumby

    Gumby Supamod Staff Member s-Moderator

    Messages:
    12,005
    Likes Received:
    464
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2002
    Location:
    Knee deep in hookers and gin
    With o-ring sealed top
     
  15. Gumby

    Gumby Supamod Staff Member s-Moderator

    Messages:
    12,005
    Likes Received:
    464
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2002
    Location:
    Knee deep in hookers and gin
    In the absence of being able to reply to a PM for some reason, the Sable maxi fuse box came from an early 90s Sable. It is located aft of the left strut tower, near the hood hinge. Coincidentally, this model Sable also tends to have the much coveted two speed electric cooling fan.
     
  16. bkgiii

    bkgiii SILVER Star

    Messages:
    479
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2003
    Location:
    Gulf Coast
  17. Gumby

    Gumby Supamod Staff Member s-Moderator

    Messages:
    12,005
    Likes Received:
    464
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2002
    Location:
    Knee deep in hookers and gin
    You're very welcome. Every time I would hit reply, it would start loading the page and never get there. I tried to reply direct and the same thing happened. Now it's archived, I guess.
     
data-matched-content-rows-num="2,1" data-matched-content-columns-num="1,4" data-matched-content-ui-type="image_stacked" data-ad-format="autorelaxed">