All Pro skids for FJC refresh (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

BMThiker

I aim to misbehave
s-Moderator
SILVER Star
Threads
Website
forum.ih8mud.com
I've been beating the snot out of my skids since 2007. Last summer I started thinking about re-doing my skids and finally came to the conclusion that I would be better off just replacing them, instead of attempting to fix/straighten or fabricate something myself. I contacted All Pro and showed them how "well-loved" my front skid plate is. They got a chuckle and gave me a repeat buyer's discount.

Old iron
IFS_skid (1).JPG

IFS_skid (2).JPG

Here is the test fit of the new skid, but I have bigger plans for this skid plate refresh.
Skids (6).JPG

I also got their latest version of the transmission skid plate which now protects the secondary CATs. UPS bent this one, but it straightened back out with a little banging.
APskids_2017 (2).JPG

My plan is to strengthen the front skid across the largest plane surface. So to start I'm adding tube edge reinforcements. These are actually old 80-series tie rods that have been re-appropriated. Lots of time with a grinding wheel and a little coercion from a shop press got me started. I have to do some welding next time I'm in the garage.

APskids_2017 (5).JPG
Each tube got a 1/4" slot cut the full length of it and then a kerf cut at the point where it needs to bend.
APskids_2017 (7).JPG

After a few bumps in the shop press, I took the cut off wheel to it to open the slot back up.
APskids_2017 (9).JPG
I beat them onto the edge of the skid with a hammer and now they are ready to be welded.
APskids_2017 (10).JPG

APskids_2017 (12).JPG

To be continued...

Sooooo impressive, gotta give serious props to All-Pro having those survive the abuse you've put them thru over their life. Nice ideas on the upgrades also, well done Rick...