Adjusting rear drum brakes (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Website
www.deatschwerks.com
Prior to doing a rear brake drum overhaul I thought I would try and adjust the rear brakes to see if it improved things. I have never worked on drums before, but learned about the maintenance and adjusting through reading olds posts and the FAQ. I have late model 40 disk conversion up front and stock drums in back.

With the rear end jack up I spun the wheels and hit the brakes to see how well the drums were grabbing, which they were hardly grabbing at all.

followed the adjustment procedure that I read on here and that was in the Haynes. Moving the adjustment wheel away from the axel, towards the rim.

How many "clicks" should it take to seat the shoes against the drum when doing this? I started off with just a few and checked to see if the shoes were contacting the drum, but ended up doing about 20 with still no contact.

Confused and not wanting to mess anything up. I stopped and put the truck back down on all wheels. Now the pedal feel is completely different. Not much pressure until the pedal is much further down than before. It "feels" like I don't have much braking pressure now, but can't really say for sure since I just pulled it back in the garage and did not try and drive it.

Now seriously considering a rear disk swap after reading more about the time, cost, and effort involved in overhauling the rear drums. But still would like to know what is going on with my attempted drum adjustment just cause I am curious and would like to get them at least back to where they were so I can drive the truck to my shop where I do most of my wrenching.

You sure you're moving it the right way? Sounds like the pads are too loose right now