ABS Speed Sensor Gasket? (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Hello. I'm new to Landcruisers and relatively new to the community. I've found all the information and resources to be very helpful so far, so thank you all!

I'm trying to work through the issues in my 97 FZJ 80 one by one as time allows. I've had an ABS light on since I got it. I Checked the code using the service manual procedure and found codes 22 (Open or short circuit in 3 position solenoid circuit for Left front wheel) and 43 (Malfunction in Decelerator sensor). I pulled the ABS sensor from my LF wheel last night and it appears as though there is disintegrating gasket material between the sensor flange and the knuckle body. I Cleaned up the sensor - though it didn't look that dirty at the time. The Rubber O-ring was also a bit beat up and there was some rust colored discoloration around the top by that O-ring. After cleaning it up and putting it back, I still have code 22 but wondering if it could be because of the rough connection between the sensor and the knuckle.

Is there supposed to be a gasket there? Any suggestion as to where to find one? If I scrape all that material off and put it straight into the knuckle, do I risk contact between the tip of the sensor and the teeth of the ring inside the knuckle?
Also, I found a post saying the o-ring is 1.5mm x 17.5mm - I've found 1.5mm x 14.5mm ID, 17mm OD online. Can anyone confirm this is the correct O ring for abs sensors?

I'm going to pull apart the shifter housing area to get a visual inspect of the deceleration sensor to look for any problems - any suggestions for this issue? I've only found a couple previous posts discussing this ABS code/