4 link vs leaf spring Dual purpose (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
IMG_9206.PNG
Hey all. I'm new to the 4 link world. I would like your opinions on what direction I should go with my 1992 single cab. I tow a stramcleaner skid with a 200 gallon water tank with it. Currently IFS lift running 36" tsl swampers. 5.29 gears. I'm looking for the best riding, performing on and off road but still a pleasure to drive on the road and tow with. All input is appreciated. Thanks!

Links are cool and all of that, but I would stay away for your uses. Coil springs aren't great for varying loadings w/o affecting the ride height. Go with the GM 63' leafs. I did that on my old Xcab and it not only rode nice unloaded, it didn't sag much when loaded for a week's worth of off-pavement touring & camping.

The 63" springs are my plan for the rear. I was trying to figure out the best bet for a front sas set up. I can't find anything online about people using the 63" Chevy spring up front.

AH!! I thought you were talking about the rear, missed that somehow.

Was it me, and I've pondered this on two different trucks and the third truck has a set waiting on mounts, I'd go with a 2.5" c/o up front. They're more spendy than a 2" c/o, but you move more oil with every suspension movement so their damping will be better w/o having to be harsh. Slow speed you won't know any difference, but you will when sailing down a road in the Owyhee's or taking the back way into Paulina. (I grew up in Powell Butte)

I do not see a huge advantage in a 3 or 4 link over radius arms assuming that those arms are the right length. Usually if their length results in little to no front drive-shaft plunge then that's about right. 3-4 links are what all of the cool guys run and on paper they look better, but I just don't see the added effort paying off in the real world. I'm better sure that I am nearly alone on this.