1HZj80 LHD 1996 found - project begins (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
After searching for a few years, both the right model (late 80, diesel turbo, foreign sourced, sub-tanked, straight body w/ little to no rust was sourced out of GCC origin) and the needed resources came together at the right time. I had given up hope many times and considered purchasing a high-mile 2003-2007 Gx470 with the intent to swap in turbo-diesel engine. I was seconds away from doing just that but couldn't give up hope of 80's turbo-diesel. Why turbo-diesel? I first fell in love with the Mercedes turbo-diesel OM648 IN-LINE 6 and have two of them in the garages. Now it's time for an off-road 80's beast to take me hunting and fishing and off-roading around the Western States. I'm new to the 80's platform and always open to learning. Let me know your list of maintenance or build improvements. Here are some pics on day one.

1000004234.jpg

1000004242.jpg

1000004231.jpg

1000004232.jpg

1000004237.jpg

After searching for a few years, both the right model (late 80, diesel turbo, foreign sourced, sub-tanked, straight body w/ little to no rust was sourced out of GCC origin) and the needed resources came together at the right time. I had given up hope many times and considered purchasing a high-mile 2003-2007 Gx470 with the intent to swap in turbo-diesel engine. I was seconds away from doing just that but couldn't give up hope of 80's turbo-diesel. Why turbo-diesel? I first fell in love with the Mercedes turbo-diesel OM648 IN-LINE 6 and have two of them in the garages. Now it's time for an off-road 80's beast to take me hunting and fishing and off-roading around the Western States. I'm new to the 80's platform and always open to learning. Let me know your list of maintenance or build improvements. Here are some pics on day one.

View attachment 3430953

View attachment 3430954